Issue 4
December 1995

Research Range Dedicated to MN Wheat Growers






Prairie Grains is the
official publication of
the Minnesota
Association of
Wheat Growers,
North Dakota Grain
Growers Association,
South Dakota Wheat,
Inc., and the
Minnesota Barley
Growers Association.

The 10th research range of the Northwest Experiment Station at the University of Minnesota, Crookston, was dedicated to the Minnesota Association of Wheat Growers and the Minnesota Wheat Research and Promotion Council at the station’s field day this past summer.

Nils Hasselmo, U of M president, presented a plaque to Paul Aasness, MWRPC chairman, in a ceremony that was part of the station’s centennial celebration.

Minnesota Wheat producers, through their state organizations, were recognized for outstanding support given to research in northwest Minnesota and throughout the state.

It was the MAWG which played a key role in urging the state legislature to allocate close to $1.5million in three years of funding to scab research. The MAWG also was instrumental in urging the placement of a small grains specialist at the NWES.

The MWRPC has been a long-time supporter of research projects at the NWES, allocating checkoff dollars to wheat varietal development, weed, insect, and disease management, and small grains research equipment.

The research range dedication is designed to honor people who have made genuine and long-lasting contributions to agricultural research in Minnesota. This is the first time a research range has been dedicated to a group, rather than an individual.

Past honorees include: Henry Borgman, Carl Ash, Raymond Dunham, Olaf Soine, Robert Robinson, Jean W. Lambert, Elmer R. Ausemus, B.E. Youngquist, and Richard Behrens.

Copyright Prairie
Grains Magazine
December 1995